Frequently Asked Questions

What is Islam?

Islam does not mean just peace. Islam means from the following words working together at the same time: surrender, submission, obedience, sincerity, and peace. The Islamic faith teaches that a person can only find serenity in his or her life by submitting to Allah (Almighty God) in their heart, soul and deed. Islam is not only a set of beliefs, but establishes a complete way of life.

Who are Muslims?

The people who believe in Islam are called Muslims. The word "Muslim" means one who submits to the will of Allah. There are 1.5 billion Muslims of different nationalities, races, and cultures worldwide. The largest Muslim country is Indonesia.To become a Muslim, one must declare the following: "there is no god except Allah and Muhammed is the messenger of Allah."

What are the pillars of Islam?

There are five pillars of Islam:

What do Muslims believe in?

Muslims believe in six primary principles:

How does a Muslim pray?

Before any Muslim begins their prayer, one must be clean and must wear the minimum clothing required for Salah.

Stand upright facing the direction of the Ka'bah. This postition is called Qiyaam. The direction is called Qiblah. For North America, the Qiblah is a east with a slight degree towards north.

Raise your hands to your ears and say "Allahu Akbar", which means Allah is Great. This is called Takbiratul Ihram.

Plce your right hand on top of your left on your chest, lower your gaze and receite the 1st Surah of the Quran (Al-Fatiha). Once you have received Al-Fatiha, then recite any other Surah in the Quran.

Raise your hands to your ears and say "Allahu Akbar" and bow down. This position is called Rukoo. Place your hands on your knees and say "Sub-hana Rab-biyal Azheem", which means Perfect is my Lord, the Supreme. Recite 3 times. Keep your head in line with your back, looking downward.

Stand up from the Rukoo and say "Sami Allahu liman hamidah, Rab-bana lakal hamd wal shukr", which means Our Lord, praise be and thanks to You.

Raise your hands to your ears and say "Allahu Akbar" and prostrate on the floor. This position is called Sujood. Your forehead, nose, palms, knees and toes should touch the ground. Do not spread your arms out, keep them as close to your body as possible. Say "Sub-hana Rab-biyal A-la", which means How Perfect is my Lord, the Highest. Recite 3 times.

Sit up from the floor and say "Allahu Akbar" with knees bent and palms on your knees. Optional: Say "Rab ighfir li", which means O my Lord! Forgive me.

Make Sujood again and recite "Sub-hana Rab-biyal A-la" 3 times. Sit up from this position and say "Allahu Akbar".

This completes the first Rakah of the Salah. Rakah means pillar or in this case, unit. Stand up and perform the 2nd Rakah of the Salah exactly how you performed the 1st. Once you have performed the 2nd Sujood, do not stand up, but instead receite the Tasha-hud. This is the 1st half:

In the 3rd Rakah (Maghrib) or 4th Rakah (Dhuhr, Asr, Isha), perform the Rakah the same way as the 1st and 2nd Rakah, but recite Al-Fatiha only when standing upright.

To complete your Salah, recite the 1st half of the Tasha-hud, then recite Assalatul-Ibrahimiyah. This is the 2nd half:

Turn your head to the right and say "Assalam A-laikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatu", which means peace and the mercy of Allah be on you. Turn your head to the left and repeat the recitation.